Speed Limit Bylaw 2013 - Proposed Amendments

Closed 24 Sep 2017

Opened 8 Aug 2017


This consultation has now closed.

Council will be hearing verbal submissions from those who wished to speak in support of thier submission on 1 November 2017 in the Council Chambers.  This is a public forum which anyone can attend to listen to the proceedings.



Hamilton City Council (the Council) is seeking feedback on the proposed amendments to the speed limit schedules within the Hamilton City Speed Limit Bylaw 2013 to set speed limits on any road within the jurisdiction of the Council other than State Highways, which are controlled by New Zealand Transport Agency.

The Council determined it is appropriate that the Hamilton City Speed Limit Bylaw 2013 be retained as the mechanism for setting speed limits within Hamilton in accordance with the Land Transport Rule: Setting of Speed Limits 2003.

The full Hamilton City Speed Limit Bylaw was last reviewed in 2012 as per the Local Government Act 2002 requirements and came into force 1 March 2013. At the time it came into force it was determined the most appropriate format for the setting of speed limits within Hamilton was a bylaw. Since that time there has been one amendment made in order to implement speed limit changes in accordance with a Council resolution on 17 September 2013.

1:  Please be aware when providing personal information that all submissions are part of the public consultation process and as such may be reproduced and included in Council public documents such as Council agendas and minutes. These documents are available on Council's website.

Why We Are Consulting

Development around the city has occurred which requires changes to the speed limits in order to maintain safety.  The proposed amendments are as follows:

City Centre area
1.      Knox St - Introduction of a 30km/h speed limit for the full length of Knox St.

Northern area
2.      Endeavour Ave - Introduction of a permanent 40km/h speed restriction in front of Endeavour School.

3.      North City Rd and Borman Rd - Extend the length of the current variable 40km/h speed limit on Borman Rd and North City Rd. Introduction of a permanent 50km/h speed limit to a section of North City Rd.

4.      Kimbrae Dr - Introduction of a variable school zone 40km/h speed limit in front of the Rototuna High Schools.

5.      Borman Rd and Hare Puke Dr - Add the future Sylvester School to the speed limit bylaw list for 40km/h variable speed school zones.

6.      Gordonton Rd - Introduction of a variable speed intersection zone of 60km/h speed limit at the intersection of Thomas Rd.

North Western area
7.      Rotokauri Rd - Introduction of a section of 60km/h speed limit in conjunction with a new roundabout.

8.      Te Kowhai Rd East - Introduction of a 50km/h speed limit for the full length of Te Kowhai Rd East.

9.      Baverstock Rd - Replacement of the current section of 70km/h speed limit with a 50km/h speed limit.

Eastern area
10.   Wairere Dr - Short extension of the current 60km/h speed limit north of Ruakura Rd.

11.   Masters Ave, Silverdale Rd, Barrie Cres and Morris Rd - Enable Hillcrest High School to operate the existing 40km/h variable speed school zone in place for Silverdale Primary.


  • Brymer
  • Hamilton Central
  • Hillcrest
  • Hillcrest West
  • Huntington
  • Rotokauri
  • Rototuna
  • Rototuna North


  • Everyone


  • Everyone
  • Recreational cycling
  • Commuter cycling