2018 Representation Review: Initial Proposal

Closed 24 Sep 2018

Opened 24 Aug 2018

Feedback Updated 28 Nov 2018

We Asked

We asked the public about their views on the Council’s preference to retain the existing two-ward system for the 2019 election (its initial proposal for representation). The public had one month to make a submission as part of this process, ending on 24 September. It should be noted that this formal consultation process was preceded by robust pre-consultation during which multiple representation options were canvassed with the public.

You Said

37 people completed a submission and 8 (22%) were in support of the initial proposal and 29 (78%) were opposed. Those who were opposed sought alternative arrangements, including:

  • a change from the existing ward structure to an at-large system (11 submissions),
  • a change from the existing ward structure to increase the number of wards (11 submissions)
  • a reduction to the current number of councillors (5 submissions),
  • an increase to the current number of councillors (2 Submissions), and
  • the establishment of community boards (3 submissions).

We Did

On 1 November 2018, following the mixed and contradictory feedback received through formal consultation, and the lack of a single, prevailing view about what the fairest and most effective representation arrangements for Hamilton are, the Council decided to adopt its initial proposal as its final proposal, that is, to retain the existing two-ward structure for the 2019 election. To find out more, please refer to the 1 November 2018 Council Report which is available online here.  The next steps in the Representation Review process are outlined in the timeline on our website here. The Council will know for certain what its representation arrangements are for 2019 on or before 11 April 2019.

Published Responses

View submitted responses where consent has been given to publish the response.

Overview

We’re reviewing our representation arrangements in time for the 2019 Council elections.  We have an initial proposal and we’d like to hear your views.

What is the representation review?
The purpose of the Representation Review is to establish whether our current arrangements for fair and effective representation meet our communities' needs and expectations. Under the Local Electoral Act, all councils have to do this review at least every six years and the decisions we make in 2018 will apply to the 2019 election.

The Review considers:

  • the number of voting areas (called 'wards'), if any, that is best for our city
  • whether we want to elect all, or some, of our councillors across the whole city, or from two or more wards
  • how many councillors there should be
  • how many councillors there should be in each ward
  • whether we want to have community boards, and if so, how many members should they have, and which areas should they cover. 

What’s being proposed?
On 16 August 2018, the Council decided to formally consult the public on its initial proposal to retain the current arrangements of 12 councillors elected from two wards (East and West), the mayor elected ‘at large’ across the whole city and no community boards. The two wards, divided by the Waikato River, are to have six councillors representing each ward.

This decision followed a robust period of research spanning over 14 months, which explored a number of representation scenarios for the city and sought feedback from the public via surveys and focus groups.

For more information
You can download an information booklet 
here and/or attend a drop-in session (scroll down to Events to see dates and times).

 

Please note:
Please be aware when providing a submission that all responses are part of the consultation process. This means that your name and submission, but not your contact details may be reproduced and included in the Council's public documents such as the Council agendas and minutes. These documents are available on the Council's website at hamilton.govt.nz

Why We Are Consulting

Your views are an important part of the Representation Review process. You can let us know what you think about the Council’s initial proposal by completing the submission form.  You will also have an opportunity to make a verbal submission at a Council meeting on 9 October 2018.

Events